



**Special Announcement July 2025** 

Dear Parents and Supporters of Houston Christian School,

As we look ahead to the 2025–2026 school year, we want to take a moment to acknowledge several staff transitions within our school community.

At our recent school assembly, we had the opportunity to publicly recognize a number of staff members who are concluding their time with us: **Judy Ewald, Renee Smaill, Denise Aziz, Danielle Burkholder, Wendall Ewald & Marshall Duzan.** 

Since then, **Cindy Vellekoop** has also shared that she will not be continuing with us in the fall. We are grateful for the time Cindy spent with us the past number of years and the contributions she made during that time.

Each of these individuals has had a meaningful impact on our school, and we are deeply thankful for the care, dedication, and faithfulness they have shown to our students and families. We wish them all God's richest blessings in what lies ahead.

In light of these changes, we are pleased to announce that **Ron Donkersloot will be serving as our interim principal for the 2025–2026 school year**. Ron is recently retired after a long career in Christian school leadership and has graciously agreed to support our school community in this time of transition. He currently resides in Pitt Meadows but plans to be on-site with us throughout the year.

Ron was at the school last week to meet with the Board and staff, and the visit was encouraging and affirming. We are confident he will provide a steady and supportive presence as we move forward.

Ron will be arriving in Houston on August 25. In the meantime, we are currently trying to secure a suite to rent during his time here—from late August until the end of June. We are also looking for a reliable vehicle he could borrow for the duration of the school year. If you know of a suitable rental or vehicle option, please contact a member of the HCS Board.

We are grateful for God's continued faithfulness and provision and invite your prayers as we prepare for another school year.

Sincerely,

The HCS Board Daryn Kobes, Collin Peters, Kevin Alles, Brenan Mayer, Sean Delege, Sarah Sutton & Kari Vanderwoerd

